Slice of Life

Standard

Twice in the last week, we have entertained via Vitales Pizzeria.  Vitales has been a part of my life for…well we really do need not need to go there.  Let’s talk pizza.  Crust is important, but honestly, I’m a sauce girl.  I want a sauce that lures me to find secret locations to eat it by a spoon.  Shh, don’t tell anyone, but sometimes I drink it straight from the cup. I do that to Jack’s salsa too, but I’ll save that for another post.  Let’s get back to that sauce.  Yeah its red, has a slightly garlicky undertone, but to me, it’s the addition of Parmesan cheese that’s over the top.  Yeah, cheese in the sauce!  On numerous occasions, I have ordered pizza with EXTRA sauce.  You still question my devotion?  For $3.25, I can get a 10in french bread toasted pizza sub.  Me, I hold the pepperoni and sub in extra sauce.  What has me hooked on this place is beyond the pizza and sauce, it’s the homemadeness of the items.  Last Saturday during the Lions playoff game, an overdue preggo and I were craving Vitales.  As I entered the corner joint, I was in awe!  There in the corner booth sat two employees rolling meatballs and listening to the Lions game.  Did you get that?  Let me explain.  Picture a large roasting pan filled with ground beef, spices, garlic, onions, and binder being lovely rolled and weighed.  If I had been able to talk over my jaw drop, I would have volunteered to roll balls!  Who doesn’t like to roll a flavorful ball?  After you get your head out of the gutter, pick up the phone and call Vitales!  You can have your Pizza Hut, $5.55 Little Caesars, Dominos, I’ll bust my budget for Vitales any time!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Inside out campout « smalltownjules

Leave a Reply

