Cleanout take 3

Standard

Last night’s dinner was a mixture of what do I have on hand and what sounds good.  Corn bread, sweet buttery corn bread was tickling my taste buds.  Little Chef said he wanted salsa, something, anything with salsa.  So with those ingredients, plus 2 precooked chicken breasts and shredded cheddar cheese, I stared down my line-up.  Hmm, what could I concoct in less than 30 minutes and delight everyone?  I came up with Mexicali Corn Pudding.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Spray a 8×8 glass pan with non-stick spray.

Pour in 1 cup salsa of your choice

Cube 2 precooked chicken breasts (or whatever you have on hand); Sprinkle on top

Next mix up the corn muffin mix according to directions.  Add in 1/2 cup shredded cheese.

Spoon the mixture on top of the salsa chicken layer.

Bake for 20 minutes.  Top with additional shredded cheese and enjoy!

Looking for a photo of this concoction?  Our littlest hovered around the oven for the last 5 minutes and insisted on “eat, eat” when I removed the tantalizing aroma dish.  Needless to say, the dish was scooped up and served within mere minutes of exiting the oven.  By the time I remembered to take a picture, all that was left was a scraped dry pan, 5 empty plates, and a few full bellies.  My Little Chef, a budding foodie, patted him tummy and responded, “this is really tasty, more please”.  That’s better than a photo in my book.

Leave a Reply

