1 tortilla, 2 tortillas, 3…

Standard

My menu was planned.  All day I thought about the delicious burritos that would fill my tummy later.  The ooey gooey cheese melted over the top, the creamy turkey and tomatoes inside, I ate a light lunch all in anticipation of the Mexican fiesta.  As the ground turkey and onions were browning, I meticulously laid out the other ingredients.  Wait, what’s this?  Only 2 tortillas?  How can I possibly serve a growing family of 5 with just 2 tortillas?!  Surely this is a mistake!  I searched high and low and found only a moldy, limp carrot.  The little ones were growing restless and asking for dinner.  What was I to do?  20 minutes was all I had left until the kitchen and all in it, would self-destruct.  For a mere moment I played merry-go-round with the items until I had it…Mexican Lasagna!

Preheat oven to 450 degrees

1.  1 pound ground turkey browned with 1/4 cup diced onion (flavored with cumin, chili powder, and sea salt)

2.  Mix in 1 can diced tomatoes, undrained (Add in a can of green chilis if your kids can handle it.)

3.  Bring to a simmer.  Add in 3 Tablespoons of sour cream.  Stir until well incorporated.

4.  Spray a small casserole dish.  Put 1/4 cup of the meat mixture in the bottom of the dish.  Layer on 1 medium flour tortilla (or whatever flavor or size available). Spread on all but 1/2 cup of the meat mixture.  Sprinkle on 1/2 cup of queso cheese (cream cheese would also work).  Add on another tortilla and the remaining meat mixture.  Lastly top with 1 cup cheddar cheese.

5.  Bake in the oven until bubbly.  About 8 minutes.

6.  Serve with a tossed salad and salsa.

Please remind me to put a package of tortillas on the Aldi’s list.  Actually make that 2.  The oldest, plus the husband, gave it two thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

