Pasta Me Crazy

Standard

Since our Italian honeymoon 11 years ago, homemade pasta has been my secret longing.  Food Network chefs make it look so easy!  Surely a foodie wanna be like me could make fresh pasta.  For my recent birthday, my DH honored my dreams with a shiny, new tool for my culinary arsenal.  Boy is she a beauty!  With the two little ones napping, the newly 6-year-old and I set about on our first pasta excursion.  We needed egg noodles for mama’s homemade chicken noodle soup.  The recipe was simple: 2 and 1/2 cups flour and 3 eggs (I used 2 eggs and 2 T. egg substitute.)

After mixing, let the dough rest for 20 minutes.  Cut off a small section.  Set the pasta machine at the highest setting, 7.

Fold in 1/2 and pass through at 7 a few more times.

Continue to fold in 1/2 and pass through.  After a few times, reduce the thickness…6….5…4…etc.  My helper was the crank master!  He started telling me, “Mama it is getting too easy, you better go down a number”.  What would I do without my Little Chef?!

We separated the pasta, lightly dusted it with flour, and hung to dry for 1/2 hour.

Here is the part where you are expecting to see the finished product.  Me too.  The chicken noodle soup that I left for the babysitter ended up being such a hit, that it was all gone when I got home!  My photographic moment, missed.

Making homemade pasta loves – the money savings, the stress relief, but most importantly, the time spent with my Little Chef.  Spinach pasta is next on the agenda!

The Italian Dish

The Egg

 

 

Leave a Reply

