Thursday Thankful Corner – Life Lessons

Standard

Occasionally there comes a time when despite the hard work, one does not receive what seems a just reward.  Here’s a hearty slap on the back for a job well done, but hey we’re going with this person.  Ever have that day?  The day or time when you hit the wall running near the front of the pack only to realize that sometimes life is not about doing your best, but perhaps who played the game better.

Recently our son has come home upset about a situation where he’s told, you can’t play with us, go away, we don’t like you today, or we do not want you.  I have my own life lessons to learn, but teaching a 6-year-old about this game, is a strategy session of its own.  With a teacher and a counselor as parents, the natural instinct is to “fix” the problem, but helicopter parenting is not our MO.  Teaching about life’s ups and downs, injustices, and lessons will take him further and help him develop into a well-rounded young man.  Remember my “big girl panties“?  Yeah, that’s how I approached my son’s bullying difficulties.

Having had a  slap in your face kind of day myself, I’m thankful our son grounded my thinking and helped me take a bite out of the game.  Yes, I’m thankful that life gives us these grand life lessons to become better parents, kinder humans, and more compassionate people.

I’m dusting off my gamebook and preparing for the game.  This game called life.  It is not really who wins or loses, we will all win and lose some, but how the game is played.  And I am working on my game plan.  Thank you son for the reminder.

Okay:  To expect life to treat you good is foolish as hoping a bull won’t hit you because you are a vegetarian.’ ~Rosanne Barr

Better:  Life is a game, boy.  Life is a game one plays according to the rules.  ~J.D. SalingerThe Catcher in the Rye

Perfect! I need this as a plaque!:  Life is a song – sing it. Life is a game – play it. Life is a challenge – meet it. Life is a dream – realize it. Life is a sacrifice – offer it. Life is love – enjoy it.  ~Sai Baba

 

Life

Leave a Reply

