Behind the Lens

Standard

Each year our children get a bound photo scrapbook.  For the kids it is a trip down memory lane, a visual representation of growth, and most importantly a keepsake for years to come.  My husband and I love the books for all that it represents, family.

However, as I flip through the carefully laid out pages, there is often one family member absent.  Page after page turned with perhaps only a shadow.  Me.  I am but little glimpses of light, a ray of being.  Recently as I downloaded over 100 vacations photos, my spirit in all, but body in less than 10.

My pledge is to get out from behind the lens.  Live life a little and get captured doing so.

Trying to get out a little more…

5 responses »

  1. I was also the photographer in my family – and it’s fun to do but very true of not being in the pictures. So many photos had to on a timer and I’d run in to pose quickly before the lens clicked. Don’t be the shadow –

  2. Yes, definitely get out more. The last thing you’d want to have happen is for the kids to look at their albums in a few years and ask, “Mom, how come to didn’t come with us to blah, blah, blah?”
    Teach Art how to operate a camera.

  3. Pingback: The Art of a Selfie | smalltownjules

Leave a Reply

