For the Old Timers

Standard

Yep, I did it.  Broke the rule.  Today I threw on a pair of white capris.  I know, I know.  “No white after Labor Day”.  How did I manage it?  By “manage it”, you mean wear white with 3 kids around, right?  I managed it, because I was thinking, hey why not?  No not really.  The white capris fit.  Plain and simple.

Breaking the rules

As a kid I was not much of a rule breaker.  Well except for cracks.  I liked to step, jump, and pulverize them.  To my knowledge, my mother never broke her back.  Unless of course you count years later when she had to under go back surgery.  Could my years of trying not to step in the cement squares and instead trying to leap from crack to crack slowly have worn my mom’s back out??!  Yikes!!

Where do these ideas come from?  Our mothers fed these concoctions to us and surely we will pass them on.  Another example.  In 8th grade I was hit by a car while walking home from school.  The first and only time I ever walked home.  No serious injuries, at least nothing an over night stay in the hospital couldn’t mend.   My first thoughts after giving the EMT my name and contact info?  Clean underwear.  Yes, I clearly remember my mother’s voice saying, “make sure you have on clean underwear in case you get in an accident”.  Good thing I didn’t poop my underwear when I was rammed in the tummy.  That might have messed up my clean panties.

Surely these lines are out of date.  However, we willingly continue the sentiments.  And why not?  Clean underwear is important.  White surely gets messy in damp fall leaves or slushy brown snow.  And stepping on cracks is probably the real cause of a woman’s osteoporosis.

4 responses »

  1. I will be wearing white tomorrow, and will think of you. 🙂 But for me it is because I don’t even think about it being after September 1, but because it is a perpetual summer here, and I wear whatever keeps me cool – including white capris…

Leave a Reply

