It Doesn’t Hurt

Standard

For most people, smiling does not hurt.  So just do it once in awhile!

If you are the first face people see, smile!  During the summer and fall months, I pay one house utility at the establishment.  Upon entering, the woman behind glass wears a sneer, never even a smiley crack.  It is not just me, she is short tongued and lips sealed with others.  This lady may just be happy-go-lucky, but she is not at work.  This place is on our main street, perhaps even the first stop for town newbies.  What an unwelcome face to greet those virgin visitors.

 

Hey, I may not be Miss Smiley Pants 24/7, but when it comes to that first impression or meet and greet, I will plaster on a good one.  Weekly I talk with students on how personal appearance, facial expressions, and communication skills play an important role in the job hunt.  Even when popping in to pick up an application, a smile and politeness can do wonders.

 

Yesterday seeing her Snape like sneer sent a chill throughout me.  Yet it reminded me of the importance of first impressions and how far a smile can go.

 

Smile, it often communicates more than your words.

Smiley from the sMirC-series. smiling

Smiley from the sMirC-series. smiling (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Importance of a Smile

4 responses »

  1. I love this one. I sure hope she sees it. I also wanted to tell you that I am in total agreement regarding kids missing school to hunt. That was another great article. You do a fantastic job & I really look forward to them all. Thanks.

    Chic

  2. When I see people like that I often wonder what’s going on: do they hate their job or are their lives miserable all the time? What an existence.
    You’ve sparked an idea for my blog which I will now go ahead and publish. Thanks.

  3. Pingback: Smile, you’re in CANADA! « My Present Self

Leave a Reply

