UP North Sandwich and Pasty Shop

Standard

Recently little E and I escaped cars, Lego land, and the mini sports arena for shopping and lunch, a perfect girl day.  When given the run down of eateries, her chant of sub, sub, sub led us to UP North Sandwich and Pasty Shop.

Upon entering, I was slightly disappointed as they were not serving the summer BBQ Brisket topped with creamy slaw.  It is my UP North standby.  Worth any trip!  A perfect balance between a creamy, tangy slaw and a slightly spicy BBQ.  Is it summer yet?  Looking for something close, I had the Philly Cheese steak sub.  Herbed Boursin cheese, sauteed mushrooms, onions, and peppers on a fresh sub roll.  Let’s talk about the roll.  The sub rolls are soft, smooth.  The perfect vehicle for its oozy, greasy inners.  They could serve me a sweaty sock on that roll and I would be happy.  On other trips, when not BBQ season, I have enjoyed the fresh croissant rolls topped with creamy pecan chicken salad.

UP 1

“Baby” sub is huge!

After eating it like an ear of corn, E got a fork and ate the "salad" (aka - lettuce).  Clearly the sub is a lot of work!

After eating it like an ear of corn, E got a fork and ate the “salad” (aka – lettuce). Clearly the sub is a lot of work!

At $2.99, the kids Baby sub is large enough for an adult and worth the money!

What is left of my Philly Cheese Steak sub...

What is left of my Philly Cheese Steak sub…

The bank turned sandwich and pasty shop is a welcome addition to the Allegan food scene.  Give it a try!  Work place orders, no problem!  They deliver!
U.P. North Sandwich & Pasty Co. on Urbanspoon

SW Michigan Dining blog

4 responses »

  1. I just left the hospice office and, I swear, they were getting ready to order from Up North because I asked if they ever do that. The secretary said they had in the past but just forget about it. After a gentle nudge from me – they called.
    I must admit I forget about them too although we rarely eat lunch out. I know they’re open in the evening as well so now I’m going to pin a note to the wall as a reminder.
    That BBQ sammie sounds divine. Come on summer!!!

    • Ellen, together we will have to cover more places in and around again! UP North just scored some business directly due to blogging. Maybe we can save the world! Okay, maybe only a few places in our small town.

Leave a Reply

