What to do with leftovers?

Standard

Leftovers.  I am not a fan.  Most pasta dishes I will reheat.  My issue is my palette senses subtle  changes in reheated meat.  We only use ground turkey, but reheated?  No thank you.  I can handle ham reheated, but we do not enjoy it often.  Beef, okay, but again it is about once a month.  Chicken?  Cold, blah.  Microwaved, yuck!  Most soups sans meat, yes please!  Leftovers save money, I get it.  But most are not for me.  Perhaps I need to be more creative.   A few weeks ago on Chopped, the chefs had to craft an appetizer, dinner, and dessert from leftovers.  Not a casserole in sight.  I salivated.

Before me sat a tub of mashed potatoes from Grandma and a container of freshly shredded carrots courtesy of M.  From the pantry I grabbed garlic powder, an onion, and salt & pepper.  A saute pan, some non-stick spray, and minutes later – delicious potato-carrot pancakes!  Topped with unsweetened applesauce and multiple servings later, happy smiles and filled tummies surrounded our table.  I was impressed.

Potato-carrot cakes

Potato-carrot cakes

Unfortunately the evidence disappeared, we enjoyed every last pancake.  Have you ever whipped up a concoction and impressed yourself with its tastiness?

One response »

  1. Wow, I am very impressed. Have I ever done that? hmmmm, not sure. You know by now that I am not a fan of cooking but I’ve been at it for many, many years so I probably have concocted something out of mere nothing once or twice.

Leave a Reply

