Hand talker

Standard

I have never fancied myself a hand talker. Last weekend, while dining with friends, a waitress approached me wondering if I was attempting to flag her down via sign language. Nope, just animated me. However it caused me to think. I am hearing impaired yet can only fumble my ABC’s. Here was another young, much younger than I, lady with a hearing impairment, without hearing aids, teaching herself lipreading and taking sign language courses. Hmmm. Recently my hearing was reevaluated. Epic failure. Since my Latvian is elementary at best, perhaps my phalanges are better communicators. I do need to take a few graduate classes…and I am losing my hearing…

20130420-194647.jpgM trying his hand at the alphabet.

2 responses »

  1. DON’T START WITH THE ALPHABET!!! People always do that and it just slows things down. Finger spelling is such a small part of Sign Language. I was at an all-day workshop yesterday that dealt exclusively with finger spelling. It definitely plays a role but a small one.
    Go to http://www.aslpro.com It is an excellent SL dictionary.

Leave a Reply

