Do You Hear What I Hear?

Standard
Wicked (musical)

Wicked (musical) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why, yes, yes I did!

On a recent sunny Saturday,  I joined a few friends for a Wicked production.  The three of us suffer from various degrees of Tinnitus. Occasionally we share our ringing or noise stories.  Finally, I can share my bothersome experiences.

As the performance started, one thing became clear, crystal clear in fact.  Amazingly I heard every note, breathe, sigh.  Even thinking about it now, tears fill my eyes and heart.  For years, I have attended our local high school performances or community productions.  As entertaining, captivating as they are, my experience is often lack luster.  Walking away I am left curious and disappointed.  Our local Performing Arts Center is a new beautiful facility, yet acoustically I hear less than half of each production.  I laugh, because those around me do.  Tears only come as I glance around at others glistening eyes.  Missed it, my heart cries.

Wicked opened my ears and warmed my heart.  Finally.  I am not ashamed to admit it, I joyfully cried driving home.  If only every theatrical experience could be that rewarding.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

