Mrs. Z, what’s new?

Standard

This seems to be the question of the week, or now the year.  My hair, well it’s the same.  As evidenced by my ID photos from this year and last.  photoDo you see it?  Upon receiving my ID this year, I assumed the district was saving a few bucks by reusing photos from the previous year.  Much to my shagrin, a noisy co-worker lovingly pointed out that I had indeed worn the same outfit, earrings and all, two picture-day years in a row.  Lame!  But no, that wasn’t anything new. sigh I actually thought I had a new do.

So the hair, and apparently the clothes, were not new, what could it be?  The 1:1 technology our district is implementing? While the tech is really cool and I am bounding into the building each morning eager to present new tech tips, share ideas, and relish in the increase in student participation and collaboration, that isn’t it either.

One week a student commented that I looked “hip”. Well apparently I did have a new outfit or two up my sleeve. Another day a male student said I seemed happier, almost “crazy” about teaching.  Still another remarked that he didn’t know what was going on, but that he liked my classroom better than previous years.  Hmm, reflection time.

What’s changed is me. Deep down, I knew a change was in order.  A mental and physical overhaul.  The big girl panties that I relied on to pull me through were worn and lacking elasticity.  Tossing the fading grannies aside, I started anew.  New perspective, new life, whatever you want to call it is fine with me.  With the exception of a few spoonfuls of decadent ice cream this weekend, I cut my sugar intake to virtually nil. Gluten products down to 1-2 times a week.  Fruit and vegetable intake greatly increased. And most importantly, our family is now an Essential Oil loving group. My mornings are filled with dabbles of Joy, Peace and Calming, and Stress Away.  A sense of peace and belonging seem to engulf me as I ascend on this new path.  The next hurdle is to increase the exercise regimen, time and baby steps ahead.

But for now I know “what’s new”.  It’s my outlook.  It’s me. Happier in the classroom, a more relaxed mama at home, and so “what’s new”…I’m ready to see.

Leave a Reply

