Uncategorized

We’re Village People

Moms and dads, let’s talk.

Raising kids is soul searching, boundless lovely, work. And Exhausting. I want, need help along the way. As I get older, the less I want to worry about how this looks and sounds and the more I want to rely on others to support in “raising” our kids. No I’m not asking for handouts or free babysitting, just good ole support from my village.

I’d like to know if my kid is being a jerk or my daughter, a mean girl. Similarly I’d be ecstatic to learn that one sat with the lonely, talked with the new kid, or helped the aging. I have one entering preteen female drama years and another less than a year from teenagehood! The girl already sees and experiences the drama; you’re my friend but now not, I’m too good for you, I only talk to older girls now, yada yada yada crap. If we’re hanging out and my son is ignoring your kid, let me know. As our children grow and explore functions, events without us, you might encounter them while with friends or perhaps teammates, I hope and pray that they remember to speak to you, our village. I’d appreciate knowing either way, it’s what generations of villagers did, looked out for others small and big. As friends, I’ll lend a hand, an ear, or friendly face to you and yours. If our kids had been friends but suddenly not, I might ask. When your daughter blows off my daughter, perhaps I’ll inquire. Hopefully you, my parental posse of support, would do the same. Parenting means a village scaffolding of sorts. I’ll get your back, if you’ll support mine.

I’m not talking helicoptering, I’m talking the village, our village. I remember growing up and being acutely aware that most places I went, someone was watching. Not as in the boogie man, but the “village”. My parents people, extensions of our family. Did I mess up sometimes? Yep. Did my parents occasionally get insider information? Yep. Once, when I was 16 and out driving who knows where with a friend, I was driving a bit fast and perhaps a bit reckless. They found out, I’m not sure from whom, but I have my suspicions. And you know what, it was good. My village, the one surrounding me as I traversed my teenage years, let me grow and stumble.

We, my husband and I, are village people. We’re in it with you and we’d like you to be along for the journey. Happily we’ll be a part of your village too. Let’s together support each other’s offspring as they stumble and soar and wind their way. Villagers, friends, let’s be in it together.

3 thoughts on “We’re Village People”

  1. This is the absolute truth. Just think of what our daily experiences would be if most parents felt this way about their children. You rock. I pray that when Carson Grace gets to her pre-teen years she still has the heart to help and think of others that she does now! You rock!

  2. It does take a village and it worked quite well when I was a kid.
    Times have changed but I don’t think they’ve changed so much that this won’t work now.
    You and Art have great kids and you’re great parents. You also have a really nice group of friends.
    It’s all about support and sharing.

  3. 😘

    Art Ziemelis, Counselor *Allegan High School (ext. 5523)* 1/2 Day AM Caseload Students Se-Z *L.E. White Middle School (ext. 4014) * 1/2 Day PM

    On Mon, Aug 20, 2018 at 12:43 AM, smalltownjules wrote:

    > smalltownjules posted: “Moms and dads, let’s talk. Raising kids is soul > searching, boundless lovely, work. And Exhausting. I want, need help along > the way. As I get older, the less I want to worry about how this looks and > sounds and the more I want to rely on others to suppor” >

Leave a comment